Accueil du site > Les structures de recherche > Les Fondations Mathématiques > Research units

Recherchez sur ce site

Research units

The information provided in the present section may be supplemented with the guide on the regulations, such as the one intended for the National Committee for Scientific Research. The latter guide offers a typology of units, as well as of the laws and regulations which govern their establishment and functioning. The guide is available online or downloadable as a PDF file from the CNRS website.

Joint Research Units (UMR)

Joint Research Units (“Unités Mixtes de Recherche” – UMR) The Joint Research Units (UMR) are laboratories which are recognized and backed up by both the CNRS and by one or more other organizations, most of the time by one or more universities or “grandes écoles”.

Host Teams (EA)

Host Teams (“Equipes d’Accueil” – EA) The Host Teams, unlike the Joint Research Units, are not recognized by the CNRS.

Institute for Higher Scientific Studies (IHÉS)

The Institute for Higher Scientific Studies (“Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques” – IHÉS) is an institute of advanced research in mathematics, theoretical physics and other science that could be attached to it. It is a private law foundation established in 1958.

Collège de France

The “Collège de France” is attached to the Prime Minister office and is organized in Chairs whose holders are leading scientists.

Foundation for Mathematical Sciences of Paris

The "Foundation for Mathematical Sciences of Paris" is a Thematic network for advanced research co-founded and co-financed by the CNRS and supports the work of 1,000 mathematicians working in 9 different UMR of the CNRS.